WBAUnofficial
MCW Thread - chef knives - Printable Version

+- WBAUnofficial (https://wbaunofficial.org.uk)
+-- Forum: WBAUnofficial (https://wbaunofficial.org.uk/forumdisplay.php?fid=3)
+--- Forum: WBAUnofficial (https://wbaunofficial.org.uk/forumdisplay.php?fid=4)
+--- Thread: MCW Thread - chef knives (/showthread.php?tid=10656)

Pages: 1 2

MCW Thread - chef knives - ChamonixBaggie - 06-08-2020

anyone here splashed a bit of decent money on a chef knife for home use? I'm a pretty keen home cook and am currently using whatever cheapo thing we got from the supermarket, which is shite and I'm sick of trying to hone it every time I use it. 

A standard 8 inch/210 cm chef knife is the knife you use for 90 of kitchen tasks and if you like to cook then its worth spending a bit of cash on I reckon. 

The choice is generally between Japanese or German for a decent knife, though the K Sabatier French ones also have a good reputation. 

Anyone have a personal recommendation available in Europe for under £100? Wusthof Ikon, MAC, K Sabatier are ones I've seen recommended online for a smaller budget.

RE: MCW Thread - chef knives - BAGGIEGRIFF - 06-08-2020

(06-08-2020, 04:30 PM)ChamonixBaggie Wrote: anyone here splashed a bit of decent money on a chef knife for home use? I'm a pretty keen home cook and am currently using whatever cheapo thing we got from the supermarket, which is shite and I'm sick of trying to hone it every time I use it. 

A standard 8 inch/210 cm chef knife is the knife you use for 90 of kitchen tasks and if you like to cook then its worth spending a bit of cash on I reckon. 

The choice is generally between Japanese or German for a decent knife, though the K Sabatier French ones also have a good reputation. 

Anyone have a personal recommendation available in Europe for under £100? Wusthof Ikon, MAC, K Sabatier are ones I've seen recommended online for a smaller budget.